FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                         
Austin Texas, March 21, 2023
The Gulf Coast Power Association (GCPA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce it has selected Brad Jones as the 2023 recipient of the Pat Wood Power Star Award.  GCPA presents this annual award in recognition of the chosen honoree’s significant contributions towards the advancement of competitive energy markets in Texas.  The award will be presented to Jones during GCPA’s 36th Annual Spring Conference April 18-19, 2023 in Houston, Texas.

Brad has been integrally engaged in the transformation of the electric industry for much of his career.  He was a leader in the development of the highly successful competitive electricity market in Texas, earning the Commissioner’s Award of the Public Utility Commission of Texas for service to the State of Texas in 2001.  He has also been a strong advocate for the development of emerging resources including wind, solar, and storage as well as distributed resources throughout his career.  Brad’s varied executive-level experience also included the operation of the New York and Texas electric grids, the development of an 1,800 MW power generation facility in central Texas and leading the representation of TXU on Wall Street during a volatile time in the company’s history.

Brad retired in 2018 but following calls by Texas’ elected officials for a significant change at ERCOT, Brad left retirement to become the Interim CEO of ERCOT.  As Interim CEO, he led the implementation of legislative changes at ERCOT as well as a program of 60 new initiatives designed to make the Texas grid more reliable. These initiatives included restoring public trust, identifying needed infrastructure expansion, developing processes to more effectively deploy emerging technologies, and establishing programs to make the grid more reliable and resilient. Having led ERCOT through the completion of most of his initiatives, Brad re-entered retirement after 18 months, receiving awards from the Governor, Senate, House, and Public Utility Commission of Texas for his service.

Peter Lake, Chairman of the Public Utility Commission of Texas, said, “All Texans owe Brad an enormous debt of gratitude for stepping up during a time of unprecedented challenge and urgency following Winter Storm Uri. His steady hand and deep experience in grid operations were critical in providing the clear leadership necessary to move ERCOT forward with implementing landmark reliability reforms. Because of Brad’s selfless and tireless efforts, the Texas grid is more reliable than it’s ever been to the benefit of Texans today, and for generations to come.”

Echoing these contributions, Paul Foster, Chairman of the ERCOT Board of Directors, added, “Brad is one of the most intelligent persons I have ever worked with.  He’s not shy about doing tough, necessary things for improvement, as was demonstrated by the significant changes he implemented across the Texas grid.  His confidence in the future of the grid and of ERCOT was contagious.  I believe the entire team still feels that confidence today.  Brad left ERCOT in much better shape, both economically and in reliability.  He was a tremendous leader, and I believe all of Texas can be proud of the work he did.  I’m convinced, especially this year, the Pat Wood Power Star Award couldn’t be given to a better person.”

Prior to his recent work at ERCOT, Brad led the New York Independent System Operator (NYISO), which operates New York’s high-voltage transmission system, manages the state’s competitive wholesale electricity markets, and conducts comprehensive power system planning.  Mr. Jones’ strategic initiatives for the NYISO included analysis and planning for carbon pricing, expansion of transmission infrastructure, electricity storage, distributed renewables, and other future-grid technologies.

Mr. Jones has served on numerous professional, industry, and volunteer boards.  Brad served on the board of directors for the NYISO and ERCOT, the Gulf Coast Power Association, and the Future Gen Industrial Alliance, an organization dedicated to the development of zero-emissions coal generation.  Brad has also served on boards of the March of Dimes, Atlas Scholars, and St. Peter’s Health Foundation.

According to GCPA Board President Mark Dreyfus, “I’ve known Brad Jones since he was just a newbie in the electric industry.  The story of Brad’s career path is the story of our industry’s evolution from regulation to competition to resiliency.  As the electric industry faced challenges from growth, competition, new technologies and a complex web of regulatory oversight, Brad continually stretched his knowledge and capabilities, earning a well-deserved role in electric industry leadership.  And he did it with a smile and a good word to all!  On behalf of the Gulf Coast Power Association, congratulations to Brad Jones, a true Power Star.”

The GCPA Power Star Award annually recognizes an individual with a distinguished career who served as a prime mover in the advancement of electric markets.  The award is named for Pat Wood III, former PUCT and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Chairman, who will assist in its presentation during the GCPA conference.  Wood stated, “I have long been a Brad Jones fanboy.  He is genuine. He is smart.  He is decisive.  His passion and optimism are matched only by his competence and leadership. His parents raised him right.  What a gift he has been to Texas and to our industry.”

Brad joins an illustrious list of past recipients including: Vicky Oswalt, former Senior Vice President at Sharyland Utilities (2022), Darryl Tietjen, Director of the Rate Regulation Division of the PUCT (2021);  Tom Payton, former Sr. Vice President of Occidental Petroleum (2020); Tom Foreman, former GCPA Executive Director (2019); Marcie Zlotnik, former Chairman and COO of StarTex Power (2018); Trip Doggett, former ERCOT CEO (2017); John Fainter, former President of the Association of Electric Companies of Texas (2016); Robert Webb, noted attorney and renewable energy advocate (2015); Judy Walsh, former PUCT Commissioner (2014); John Stauffacher, former GCPA Executive Director (2013); Mike Greene, former Vice Chairman of Energy Future Holdings (2012); Marianne Carroll, former Partner at the law firm of Brown McCarroll (2011); Trudy Harper, former President of Tenaska Power Services (2010); Jess Totten, former Director of Competitive Markets at the PUCT (2009); F. John Meyer, former Vice President of Regulatory & Transmission Services for Reliant Energy (2008); Sam Jones, former CEO of ERCOT (2007); and Pat Wood III, former PUCT and Federal Energy Regulatory Commission Chairman (2006).